Author Topic: Help with balder2d network code?  (Read 5092 times)

Holomorph

  • User
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Help with balder2d network code?
« on: March 01, 2006, 01:09:19 AM »
Gillius, this post is mostly aimed at you, but if anyone else out is interested, feel free to contact me.

I know you aren't really working on GNE anymore, aside from bug fixes. This, I assume, results from a combination of lacking the time, and having no real motivation to finish the project (though I'm not sure which is the bigger obsticle).

I have a proposal that might spark a bit of inspiration, or if not should be fun/interesting at least. I've been using GNE for the network portion of Balder2d (http://balder.sourceforge.net/balder2d/). As of version 0.6, I had LAN play working fairly well, though internet play was unaceptably laggy. In the last few releases (now up to 0.8, and working on 0.9) I have added several features which I have not bothered to propagate over the network. I am looking for someone who would be willing to work on incorporating those features, and possibly evaluating and restructuring the network code so it would not be restricted to LAN play.

I have recently recruited another developer, and we are making good progress towards "finishing" the game. Unfortunately, he has no game networking experience, and I have lost motivation for working on that particular part of the code. Since you have a much better grasp on how it is "supposed to be done" than I do, I thought it would be worth asking if you would like to help out. Not only would your expertise benefit my project immensely, but once it was working it would provide an excellent example for other GNE users of how GNE can be used in a real game. As an added bonus you would get to use GNE and see if it really works as you had envisioned.

We are developing both in windows (using mingw) and Linux (I run Ubuntu, which is gcc 4.0 right now), so at least those two platforms would be tested. Plus it's very likely I could be inspired to help with some of the GNE code if need be.

Anyway, I understand you're busy with your job and the rest of your life, but I thought it I would see if you were interested. Keep it in mind even if you don't have time just now. The project page is http://sourceforge.net/projects/balder.

Bjørn

Gillius

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 147
    • http://www.gillius.org/
Help with balder2d network code?
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2006, 01:06:59 PM »
Looks interesting and simple enough to get into.

At minimum I should at least be looking at the code to see how you are using the library.  I could probably at least get to doing that much.  To get it to compile looks like I'd have to install Guichan and SDL and get everything to work and compile on my compiler (MSVC 2005).

Before I did any work on this for real I'd probably would rather "support it" anyway by working on GNE.  I mean I've been wanting to at least release the CVS version now.  I see that you are doing development with GCC and Linux so maybe I will try to ask you to help me out with it since most of the obstacle is the fact of trying to get it tested under all of the compilers and OS environments.

The problem is mostly time, but there is a problem with motivation too, but it is based on work and time.  In order to keep working on a project there has to be enough time -- a "critical mass" of time if you will -- for one to be able to keep track of what is going on.  So while I have an hour or two here or there and maybe an afternoon on the weekend to dedicate to it, I can't really use it because I'd have to try to remember where I was at.  The motivation problem comes because between grad classes at night and working 40 hours a week programming, after I do work and HW I'm not really wanting to work on code anymore.

There's still desire though; I am trying to figure out some creative ways of being able to work on my library and have it count somehow towards my grad degree by making it a class project or research project or maybe even my thesis project.  If that works out then I'd be able to spend time and I'd actually be "forced" to do it so I know I won't slack off about it.
Gillius
Gillius's Programming http://www.gillius.org/

Holomorph

  • User
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Help with balder2d network code?
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2006, 11:54:12 PM »
It would be nice if I had an MSVC project to build balder, but I'm not familiar with it so I haven't invested time it trying.  I think the SDL (image, mixer and gfx) stuff should be fairly easy to install in that environment; same for Guichan.  I don't know about boost_filesystem; seems like they would have made it easy though.  

Anyway, if you have a chance and get it building, I'd be interested in knowing what's involved so I can pass that along to any other people who want to compile balder with MSVC.

If you don't get inspired to actually build it, but want to look at the code and see how I am using GNE, I'd be happy to give you an overview of what I've done (hopefully without too much headscratching when I try to remember :p).  

I know what you mean about the "critical mass" of time; I've definately experienced the same thing a few times and done nothing for several months.  Luckily I've eventually gotten enough free time eventually to start back in again.  I've found also that having another team member keeps things moving enough that I actually can stay involved even when I only have an hour or two here and there.

Gillius

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 147
    • http://www.gillius.org/
Help with balder2d network code?
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2006, 06:19:26 PM »
boost is no problem I love Boost so I already have it very well installed ;).  I use it for everything.  In fact GNE uses Boost.
Gillius
Gillius's Programming http://www.gillius.org/

Holomorph

  • User
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Help with balder2d network code?
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2006, 06:40:49 PM »
Quote from: "Gillius"
I use it for everything.  In fact GNE uses Boost.


heh, yea, but you don't have to link against it; nice and easy when you just need headers.  Since it takes forever to build the whole thing, I only ever compiled boost_filesystem.  Glad to hear you've got all the rest installed though :)

Gillius

  • Administrator
  • User
  • *****
  • Posts: 147
    • http://www.gillius.org/
Help with balder2d network code?
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2006, 07:13:44 PM »
Actually I don't know if I've figured out how to compile just the filesystem.  When I did it I compiled all of Boost with MSVC and then I deleted everything but the filesystem and program_options libs.  With MSVC and all of the like 4 combos of each lib that it makes Boost compiled is I think 1GB installed for al libs -- and I'm not including the intermeddiate files.  This is if I remember correctly.  The static debug version of program_options is a staggering 6.1 MB.  Luckily Boost doesn't add THAT much to the EXE.  I'm not sure why Boost is so insanely large -- maybe it is all of the templates.
Gillius
Gillius's Programming http://www.gillius.org/