Author Topic: N00b here! I want to help.  (Read 8626 times)

GwynWynn

• User
N00b here! I want to help.
« on: February 11, 2008, 09:23:18 PM »
I must begin with some background information:
I began coding in BASIC (Commodore Vic-20), mostly hobby books copying code to a tape drive. I have coded a few small applications, text only console, in C++. I have done a small amount of network programming in Java. I do most of my work on WinXP running on an older AMD chip (3000+ 32 bit). I have also worked with Slackware Linux. I run a FreeBSD box with Neverwinter Nights running a custom module, the server name is "Questworld_Tharbanm" (I wrote most of the custom scripts. My son wrote the rest.) I have an associates degree with a technical specialty of Computer Application Developer from Tacoma Community College.

Goals:
I want to gain an in-depth understanding of multi-threaded network programming.
I want to contribute to a community project while I learn.
I want to assemble a team and develop a MMORPG space exploration and conquest game (this part may take a while.)

GNE work to date:
I installed and configured MinGW and MSYS. (tested the configuration with a Hello World)
I compiled and installed HawkNL 1.68 (tested the install with some of the sample code provided)
I copied the Boost 1.34.1 Library into C:\MinGW\Boost_1_34_1 (I did not test this lib at this point)
I unpacked GNE into my MinGW directory.
I added the Boost Directory to the LibPaths.mak file and commented out the Hawk lines.
I added my INCDIR and LIBDIR paths to the make file. figured this out after make failed on my first attempt.
I compiled and installed GNE 0.70 (no errors reported.)
I tried to compile exhello.cpp and the compiler spat errors about "GNE not a namespace."
I looked into my MinGW directory and found a strange directory "installgnelib"
I uninstalled GNE (the make uninstall seemed to work.)